Stazjia’s Commentary

Online Networking

Posted on: September 9, 2008

I’ve always been a very private person and not given to making friends easily. That doesn’t mean I don’t have friends, I just take time to get to know people. I’m a very outgoing person so this reserve isn’t immediately obvious.

Even though I’ve been an internet addict for more than 10 years, I’ve only made a few friends online just the way I have in my ‘real’ life. Now, though, that’s changing. I’ve joined Facebook and mixx.com and a new social bookmarking site that’s still in beta testing. It’s all happened since I joined Squidoo. There I’ve enjoyed visiting other people’s lenses and leaving comments, giving stars and adding lenses to my favourites. I’ve got to know other lensmasters, especially as I visit the forum regularly – like at least once a day.

On Facebook I’ve got into ‘conversations’ with other lensmasters because there are Squidoo groups on FB. I find I’m ‘friends’ with the same people on mixx and the new beta site.

I’m surprised to find that I’m really enjoying it. Perhaps it’s because, as I’m virtually retired, I have more time now for other people. I’ve also got over a deep-rooted shyness that I’ve hidden well behind an outgoing facade.

It’s really interesting interacting with people from all over the world. Although there are differences, we aren’t really all that different.

Leave a Reply

