Stazjia’s Commentary

Back Home after a Lovely Weekend Away

Posted on: July 29, 2008

It’s been very hot and sunny here over the last few days, such a change from the rain we’ve had. I went to visit my brother and his family on the outskirts of London on Friday, came home yesterday. I love going to stay with them. His partner is Kenyan and they have a son aged 1 year 10 months, and my brother has two daughters, 14 and 12, from a previous marriage who live with him. They always make me very welcome and we talk endlessly and have a laugh too.

This visit was for a special occasion. My brother was 50 last April but we have a tradition in our family for throwing surprise parties for ‘big’ birthdays so we thought he’d expect one. His partner decided to arrange it for the end of July when he wouldn’t expect anything. He was told she was arranging a Kenyan party for about 40 of her friends and relatives here in England and I was invited as an ‘honorary Kenyan’. In fact, only her sisters and their husbands were invited, the other guests were our mother, my other brother and his family and our uncle and his partner. My brother was very surprised. He didn’t expect anything like that. He was very pleased and happy.

My uncle is 79 and we haven’t seen him for 25 years. He worked abroad a lot and then his wife got Alzheimers Disease and he looked after her for 7 years on his own. He just didn’t want other people to visit. As he lived in west Wales then, it was hard to arrange to see him. He’s happy now with his new partner. He looks frail and he hasn’t been well. He’s still the same person, though. He doesn’t act old.

When I was a little girl, I worshiped him. I thought he was absolutely wonderful and would follow him around like a little dog. Bearing in mind he was a very young man when I was born, he was endlessly patient with me. In fact, he told me that he adored me as a little girl and I’d always been his favourite. We both nearly cried when we met again after so long on Saturday. I’m so glad I’ve seen him, who knows if we’ll have another chance.

It was such a lovely weekend, I really enjoyed it and am so glad I went.

Leave a Reply

